Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Faith

1 Comment

Scarecrow wanted a brain.  Tin Man wanted a heart.  Cowardly Lion wanted courage.  Dorothy just wanted to go home.  When they started on their journey down the yellow brick road, our four Oz friends had faith that something/someone bigger than they would be the ticket to their hearts’ desires.  The Wizard!  They had never seen him.  Didn’t know him.  But by all reports, they’d heard that he could do it and they believed.  Believed with everything they had.  Nothing could stop them, not the wicked old witch or her flying monkeys.

When I was a very small child, my parents started teaching me about our loving God – Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  As a Christian, I do know God and I have faith that He has a plan for my life and will guide and direct me along the right path as long as I listen and am open to His leading.  I have faith that God will provide everything I need and some of what I want.  I have faith that in the icky scary times of life, He is with me holding my hand as I walk through.  As a Christian, I have faith and am looking forward to someday going home to heaven to live eternally in the presence of God.

The Wizard – or the people of Oz’s perception of the Wizard – turned out to be a fake.  But Professor Marvel was real.  Once they got to know him, they discovered that he was a kind and wise man who showed our Oz friends how they had what they desired all along.  Of course, Dorothy also got a little help from Glinda… it is fiction after all!

There are some in our society who think God is a fake too.  I wonder if they really know Him.

Faith was central to our four friends making it to Oz and beyond.  I’m thankful to say that faith is central in my life as I walk the road before me, whatever it’s made of.

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

One thought on “Faith

  1. I’m so glad you hit “publish”! Wishing you lots of luck and blessings as you share your stories, thoughts, and recipes with the whole wide world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

