Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Memories and Three Fruit Ice

Leave a comment

Memories and Three Fruit Ice

Last Friday, my brother Matt and I had the special task of taking our Mother to the hospital for cataract surgery.  We’re so thankful for her doctor, anesthesiologist, and nurses for their skillful, kind, and thoughtful care.  Mother came through just fine and is on her way to better vision.  Yay!  The best part about the day – besides having the surgery over and behind her – was getting to spend time with Mother and Matt.  Dedicated time to visit, laugh, and reminisce.

After we got her home and settled, we started talking about some old photos Mother had recently put up on Facebook.  There are photos of my brothers and me when we were children, our Dad (who has been up in Heaven for over 26 years), and of course photos with Mother in them when she was young.  We got to talking about things that we all remembered and things long past that only she remembers.

Mother told us how when she was young her mother went to work and she had to start cooking for their family of ten.  How their Sunday fried chicken dinner was made with the chickens their dad purchased and butchered on Saturday the day before.  How that chicken tasted so fresh and good!  How she or her sister baked two pies every Saturday that were eaten after the chicken dinner on Sunday.  How during the week, they mostly ate vegetables because meat was too expensive to eat every day.  I could go on and on!  It was wonderful and I hope we make opportunities for these kinds of stories and memories more often.

One of the recipes that we all have in our memories is Three Fruit Ice.  Everyone in our family loves it and thinks of it as a special treat!   My Grandma would mix up the ingredients and put it in a crock in the freezer. After it had frozen hard, my Mother or one of her siblings would take a knife and chip away at it until they could scoop it into bowls on a hot summer day.  My brothers and I, and all our cousins, have passed it down to our children.  Three Fruit Ice is more than just a memory.  It has definitely become a family tradition!

Three Fruit Ice
Juice of three oranges
Juice of three lemons
Three ripe bananas
Three cups water
Two cups sugar

Original instructions:  Mix all the ingredients and freeze solid. When ready to serve, chip away at the “fruit juice cube” and serve.

My instructions:  Put the orange juice, lemon juice, bananas, sugar, and some water (if there’s room for it) in a blender and blend until well-mixed.  Pour into a large bowl and mix in the rest of the water.  Put in the freezer, stirring every so often to keep it icy but not frozen solid.  Serve with a maraschino cherry for garnish, if desired.

Other instructions:  Mix the ingredients together per my instructions above, but then freeze in an ice cream freezer.  The texture will be less icy and more smooth.  This is not traditional Three Fruit Ice, but some in our family prefer it this way.  To each his own.  They can’t help it that they’re wrong.  Just kidding.  Not really.  🙂

Take time to reminisce and to celebrate family traditions.  Maybe you’ll make some new memories and family traditions along the way!

Enjoy!

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

Leave a Reply

