Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Family Reunion 2012

2 Comments

Last weekend we went to a family reunion. This particular branch of our family tree begins with my maternal grandparents and continues with their seven children and their children’s children! If everyone was able to be present there would be about 100 of us.

On this day, 30  of us – four of the original brothers and sisters, aunts, uncles, and lots of cousins – were able to attend. We discovered again how we look alike, have the same hair, get emotional so easily, and on and on. Four generations of beautiful people smiling, laughing, crying, hugging, remembering the past, and celebrating the future.  It was over way too soon.

I must give credit to my cousins, Kathy, Carol and Judy, for putting this wonderful event together. One of the highlights of the day was that every so often they would draw one of our names from a hat and the winner would get to choose a prize from the prize table. These weren’t your ordinary prizes either. They were original works of art by our Grandma that had recently been found in an attic. Oh my! Each one of us was so excited to hear if our own name had been drawn! I ended up being drawn last and brought home a pen and ink drawing of a scene Grandma and Grandpa probably saw daily during their winter months in Arizona. I never got to visit them in Arizona but now, with this piece of art, I feel a little closer to them once again.

Our family events always end with a yummy homemade dessert, so I offered to bring cake! Emily helped with the final decorating and we were happy with how it turned out. Neither of us is a professional but we enjoy doing it for family!

The overall family tree design was inspired by a photo I found online here. The quote is by an unknown author.

I made a White Almond Sour Cream Cake recipe from Edna De La Cruz at Design Me a Cake. It is so delicious and crazy easy to make. You just combine the dry ingredients, then add the wet ingredients, mix for two minutes, and bake! My kind of recipe!!

If you are able, attend your family reunions. If you aren’t, bake a cake!

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

2 thoughts on “Family Reunion 2012

  1. Such a nice description of the day! The cake was wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

