Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

It’s Raining!

Leave a comment

Dark clouds are coming our way!
See the brown dead grass in the park?

Today is August 2 and I never thought I’d be so happy to see it rain!! In our area, the last time we had a decent rain was June 17. That’s 46 days ago, people! 46 days!!!

It’s been hot too. In those 46 days, 37 of them had high temperatures over 90 degrees. On 11 of those 37 days, the actual high temperature was over 100 degrees. When you figure in the dew points and heat index…well, I don’t even want to talk about it.

It’s been hot and muggy and hot and no rain and miserable and hot and the grass and other plants have died and they asked everyone to conserve water and then they had to mandate water conservation and it was still hot. HOT, I say!!!

But today… today it rained! Hallelujah and thank the good Lord!!!

Remember in the Wizard of Oz when Glinda had it snow on our four friends so they’d wake up from the Wicked Witch’s evil spell?  Well, that’s how I felt today when it rained.  It was cool and clean and refreshing!  Yay!

Ahhh! Rain!

I had no umbrella. I didn’t need one. I wanted that cool, clean rain to get my hair and face and arms wet!! It was wonderful!

I don’t know yet how much rain we got today. Accuweather.com says there’s a 75% chance for more thunderstorms in the next two days. Wouldn’t that be wonderful?! We’ll take it!

If it starts to rain where you are, go out and get wet! If you can’t do that, just sit and watch and listen to it for a while. Beautiful!

Auntie M  ♥

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

Leave a Reply

