Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Friends Like Family

Leave a comment

Family.  In this category are also the friends that are like family. 
Our four Oz characters are Friends Like Family.  They met one day and the next day they were depending on each other, not only for companionship, but for their very survival!  By the time they returned to the Emerald City with the Wicked Witch’s broomstick, they were definitely Friends Like Family.

I have been blessed with a few Friends Like Family in my life.  These are the people that God has given to me as an extra family blessing. 

Family kind of has to put up with one another because we’re, you know…family.

Friends Like Family hang in there with you because they want to be there, even though they know your faults and weaknesses.  We don’t get to choose our family, but Friends Like Family are family that you get to choose!

When my bio-family is driving me up a wall…not that they ever do…my Friends Like Family are there to listen and empathize. 

When I needed help after surgery…like getting to the bathroom…and my family wasn’t available, my Friends Like Family were right there with me.  Literally.  Oh, yes indeed!

I found a quote online and it is just beautiful: “Home is where you treat your friends like family, and your family like friends”.

It ranks right up there with “Home is where the heart is” and, of course, “There’s no place like home” … cause you know everything comes back to the Wizard of Oz.  🙂

If you have Friends Like Family, and I hope you do, let them know how much they mean to you.  I hold mine very dearly in my heart.

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

Leave a Reply

