Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

It’s New Year’s Eve

Leave a comment

Christmas is over.  2013 starts tomorrow.  And I’ve been thinking about the past year…

I’m still sad about the terrible shooting in Newtown, Connecticut.  My heart is grieving for the parents, sons, daughters, brothers, sisters, grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles, and friends of those sweet souls lost that day, the 14th of December, 2012.

My heart is still heavy for a local family with two little girls who lost their grandpa last summer then their daddy a month later and their mommy is battling against cancer. 

I can’t imagine how any of these families are getting through the holidays.  I know there are many others who have experienced loss in 2012 as well and sometimes it all just overwhelms me.  My heart goes out to each of them.  I hope that they are able to feel support from me and others who care for them and are praying for them.

On the other hand, in January 2012 our son Greg and his wife Jessi moved back to our town and just few months later bought their first home.  Just a few months after that Jessi was pronounced cancer-free for the second year.  Hallelujah!!  They are looking forward to what 2013 brings for them and so are we!

Emily’s husband Steven went through a health scare and came out with a good report.  Again, hallelujah!!

In 2012, I got to witness my brother and my niece each find love, get married, and experience reconciliation in their family.  Times are hard but their futures look bright!

John and I got to attend a cousin’s wedding in his home town and while there re-connected with his brother, sis-in-law, and our wonderful nieces and nephews.  It was a grand time!

After 20 years at this address, we finally got a garage for our cars with space for John to have a workshop.  That was big for us, folks.  🙂

Oh, and I finally learned how to bake key lime pie and cheesecake.  The pie was easy as, well, pie to make.  It tasted just like the first key lime pie I ever had in Florida.  Yum!  The cheesecake took several recipes and several practice cheesecakes to get it right but since it was for my niece’s wedding, it was worth the effort.  Comments we heard from guests included, “Best cheesecake ever!”  Oh yeah!!! 

I hope that 2013 will bring health, peace and comfort to us all.  Keep the faith and remember to pray.  As Tiny Tim said in A Christmas Carol, “God bless us, every one!”  Always remember that home is where the heart is and there’s no place like home!  Happy New Year!
Auntie M

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

Leave a Reply

