Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Doing what she loves to do

Leave a comment

Missy_FranklinSometimes we complain, but there is something beautiful about getting up before everyone else to get better at what we love.  – Olympic Gold Medalist Missy Franklin on getting up at 4:45 a.m. for swimming practice.

This evening on ABC News I was watching the piece on Olympic Gold Medalist Missy Franklin competing in her high school swim meet.  She was so full of joy doing what she loves to do – be in the water and swim faster than everyone else!  The journalist asked the coach of the opposing team if she thought it was fair that an Olympic gold medalist was competing in a high school meet.  Without hesitation she said it was wonderful and that the girls on her team had been looking forward to swimming with Missy.  She said it was the closest they would ever be to Olympic glory and they were excited about it!

I just thought that was so cool.  Mind you, Missy lapped all but one of the swimmers in the pool with her and won one of her races by 20 seconds!  No jealousy or feelings of anything about it being unfair though.  Very classy girls! 

This little story, tagged on at the end of a news program, was so inspiring to me.  It’s making me think… am I doing whatever is necessary to get better at what I love?  Hmmm… I think there is always room for improvement!  🙂

If you missed it on TV, the video from ABC News may be viewed here.  I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did.
Auntie M

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

Leave a Reply

