Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Change… the kind that chooses you

Leave a comment

MailmanSomeone once said, “The only constant in life is change.”  If that’s true, then why do I always go kicking and screaming when change comes a-calling?  I’m most comfortable with routine.  I need to know that two follows one.  If I have to do something new, I want to make a plan and also have a back-up plan ready to go if necessary.  Oh, I know that I also have to be flexible in life within the routines and plans, but that’s different than change.

For example, one day last week our postal carrier at work, Jay, announced that it was his last day.  The United States Postal Service, in its infinite wisdom, decided to shake up all the mail delivery routes in our town and moved all the carriers to different parts of town.  I’ve been working at our local Chamber of Commerce for 7-1/2 years and, even before my time there, Jay has been bringing our mail, telling us jokes, and brightening everyone’s day.  That’s a long time and maybe it was time for a change, but I gotta tell ya that it sure did come as a shock to us.  It was like losing a friend.

To add insult to injury, the mail is now being delivered mid-afternoon rather than mid-morning.  (Not the fault of the new carrier.)  I mean, come on!  Does the USPS have no feelings whatsoever?  I’ve had to change my whole routine!

Sorry to be so dramatic, but that’s how I get when change forces itself on me.

Since “the only constant in life is change”, the important thing then is how we react to it.  Going beyond my USPS woes… if something major in life happens that I have no control over, I figure I basically have two choices.  Accept and keep moving forward or live in denial and stall out.  I like to think that I will choose the former.  With the help of family, friends and my faith in God, I’m sure I will.

Always remember that, even in the midst of change, home is where the heart is, and there’s no place like home.  ♥
Auntie M

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

Leave a Reply

