Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Spring has sprung! The weather is warmer! The races are roaring!

Leave a comment

Don’t you just love alliteration?  I do!  I thought of this title last night and thought it was blog worthy.  🙂

Let’s take the last one first…

The races… We were watching some shows we had on the DVR after having enjoyed some lovely evening fresh air, and what do we hear in the background?  Yes, the race track!  The roar!!  I don’t mind it though.  Really, I don’t.  The races are a fun sport for many, many people.  They also serve to bring people to our town…along with their spending dollars.  That’s a good thing.Lady n Cassie 4-12-14 cropped

The weather… It certainly is warmer and this is a very good thing after the long hard winter we had here in central Illinois.  Even the girls, our dogs Lady and Cassie, are happier when the weather is nice and they can spend more time outside.  For me, as long as it’s not too hot, I’m liking the warmer temps too.

Spring… What comes with Spring this year is a new and improved way of eating.  I believe it will be a very good thing.

Wait…  Again? Yes, again.  Read on…

I was at a visit with our primary care physician and we were talking about healthy eating and he said something profound. He held up his hand and said there are five kinds of carbohydrates I should avoid – Bread. Potatoes. Pasta. Rice. Fruit.

Really?  Yikes.  Well, let’s see…

Bread… I’ve already mostly eliminated wheat from my diet.  Don’t get me wrong…I love bread.  I love making it.  I love eating it.  I love to eat it in all its many forms and flavors.  I love it fresh out of the oven.  I love it rolled over with some peanut butter and jelly.  I love it cradling a fried egg.  I love it soaked in egg for French Toast.  I love it morphed into a waffle or tortilla or pancake or…cake!!!  But bread – or more accurately, wheat –  doesn’t like me in more ways than one. So, OK…. avoid bread.

Potatoes… potatoes?  Ok, I get it.  They’re a high glycemic food and wreck havoc with blood sugar levels. *sigh* Potatoes are a staple food in our home.   But, OK… avoid potatoes.

Rice… I usually just eat rice with Asian food which we only have occasionally so… avoid rice.

Pasta… refer back to wheat.  I know I’m weird, but I’ve never been a huge pasta lover so… avoid pasta.

Fruit… Now, I do eat a banana almost every day which I will miss but I’m going to give this a good effort so… avoid fruit.

Why am I telling you about this?  Well, I’ve decided not to keep it a secret.  If anyone has any encouragement as John and I start this journey, please do share.  We would appreciate it.  🙂

We did try a new low-carb recipe this morning – Cream Cheese Pancakes (Low Carb and Gluten Free).  We forgot to take a photo so you’ll either have to use your imagination or, better yet, visit I Breathe… I’m Hungry for the recipe and much more!

The recipe takes very few ingredients – cream cheese, eggs, sweetener, and cinnamon.  That’s it!  Mix it all together and cook!  Yum!  Since I’ve mostly given up wheat since last summer, we’ve tried several gluten free pancake recipes.  This one, however, is the best!!  I thought they were a lot like crepes and very similar to our beloved Egg Pancakes (next time we’ll use almond extract instead of the cinnamon for that wonderful Egg Pancake flavor).

Well, that’s it for today.  Ooops!  I just remembered that I promised more photos of our backyard remodel project. They’ll keep for another day!

Always remember that home is where your heart is…and there’s no place like home!
Auntie M

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

Leave a Reply

