Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

On becoming a Grandma-to-be

3 Comments

grandmother granddaughterFor years before we ever had a baby-to-be in our family, I was looking forward to being a grandma.

As a child, I loved both my grandmothers very much and loved spending time with them. There was little need for them to discipline me because I wouldn’t have said or done anything to make them angry or sad. It was a fun and happy time. Pure love.

When I grew up and had children of my own, my mother just naturally became a wonderful grandma. She had, and still does have, a beautiful way of reaching them and teaching them through unconditional love.

When my children became adults, I began to look forward to the time when I could have that kind of relationship with a grandchild.

You know how when you’re trying to get pregnant, there are pregnant women everywhere – reminding you that you’re not pregnant.

I felt a similar hurt. Every day I was on Facebook, at least one of my friends was posting photos of their grandchildren or a cute little saying about how wonderful it was to be a grandma. Some days I wanted to scream. Don’t misunderstand me… I was really, really happy for these grandmas. I really was. It just began to wear a little thin. I began to tell myself to quit hoping so maybe it wouldn’t hurt so much.

As I shared in a previous post, Greg and Jessi tried for two years before getting pregnant. Jessi knows first-hand what that felt like. When I found out that Jessi had been feeling this way for so long, I felt for her empty arms and that empty place in her heart that was just waiting to be filled by her own child.

Once we knew of their struggles, we all began to pray. I believe in the power of prayer and it was something we could do to help.

Now, thank the Lord, Jessi has their own child growing inside her! And we all continue to pray for a safe delivery and healthy baby.

Now, I’m beginning to let my own guard down a little and have hope again.

Now, when my friends or cousins or my own mother tell me how wonderful it is to be a grandma, I listen better, and I smile.

I’m a grandma-to-be. I hope I can be for my grandchild what my grandmothers were to me.  🙂

My heart is full as I write this. Let’s always remember that home is where the heart is…and there’s no place like home.
Auntie M

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

3 thoughts on “On becoming a Grandma-to-be

  1. I’m so happy for you! You will be an amazing Grandma and that’s one lucky little child waiting to meet you!

    Like

  2. Ever since I talked to you about your hope to be a grandma I have also been praying for Jesus to answer your prayers with a yes! I feel so happy for you and John and of course for the blessed parents to be, Greg and Jesse. Being an adoptive mom of three and grandma of 7 I also know what a blessing it is when prayers are answered with the gift of children. We have so many blessings in our family……my mom has 29 great grandbabies! So just watch and see how our Lord keeps multiplying your blessings! You will be an awesome grandma, what a blessed little one will be joining your family soon!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

