Aunties M & Em

Thoughts on Faith, Family, Food, & Fun!

Retirement and an Egg Fast

2 Comments

Well, 7 months after making the decision to retire…I did it!

Last Friday was my last day at the Chamber and today is my first day of retirement.

It feels good!  It also feels weird. I’m not taking a sick day or a vacation day, but I’m home.  Just feels weird.

I still have our grandson here every morning, so that feels the same.

Our two dogs, Lady and Cassie, are happy I’m home! They don’t really care why…they just know that they’re not left alone. That’s a good thing for them…and me too.

So what am I doing on this first afternoon of retirement? I wrote a whole bunch of thank you notes! It feels so good to have that done!

I also started an egg fast. My first ever egg fast. It’s a 5 day egg fast. Why I keep saying egg“egg fast” I don’t know, but I can’t seem to help myself!  hehe

The low carb group I’m in on Facebook started a new “30 by Thanksgiving” challenge today. I thought that also starting an egg fast today would be a good way to kickstart the weight loss challenge. It should also keep me busy in this first week of retirement.

I know there are many resources out there about doing an egg fast. I’m going with Mellissa Sevigny’s ideas at I Breathe I’m Hungry. She has developed some of the best low carb recipes out there and I know I can count on her!

From Mellissa’s blog post, “What is an Egg Fast?” –  It’s a (short term) diet that consists of primarily eggs, cheese, and butter.  For each egg you eat, you should eat a corresponding Tbsp of pure fat in the form of butter, olive oil, or coconut oil.  You can also eat a corresponding Tbsp of full fat cheese per egg.  Doing this will result in an extremely low carb, high fat, moderate protein intake that will kickstart your body into fat burning mode.

I’m going to post every day this week and let you know what I’m eating and drinking…and how I’m feeling about it.  🙂

If you are already used to being in ketosis, why don’t you join me and do an egg egg - heartfast yourself! Here’s what you should do – just pop over to Mellissa’s blog and get the guidelines, menus, and recipes.

Let’s see how this works! Good luck!

Remember that home is where the heart is, and there’s no place like home!
Auntie M

Author: Auntie M

I'm Grandma to Dominic (he calls me Buhbo!), the Auntie of 11 nieces/nephews and the Great-Auntie of 12 great-nieces/great-nephews! Auntie Em is my wonderful daughter and she and her brother are both married to wonderful spouses. I've been married to my best friend for 40 years and we are truly blessed with this wonderful family! I know I say "wonderful" a lot, but I can't help it! Our God is a wonderful God and He has given this wonderful life to us! I'm so thankful!

2 thoughts on “Retirement and an Egg Fast

  1. Enjoy! It’s a blast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

